Harting Parish Council is represented by 11 Councillors elected by the electors of the parish. Each serves for a period of 4 years, unless re-elected for further periods of 4 years.

Its Chairman is elected annually by the other council members.

The council has a range of duties concerned with the quality of life of the residents through the setting of the annual precept, the scrutiny of planning applications, the maintenance of community facilities such as the village hall, and the preservation of public order through liaison with the police and other local bodies.

It has also a paid official (the Parish Clerk) who organises meetings and helps carry out the council’s decisions.

The Parish Council meets at Harting Village Hall on the third Thursday of every month. Meetings are on first Monday of month (except Bank Holidays) and start at 1930 (Oct-Mar) and at 2000 (Apr-Sep). Members of the public are encouraged to attend.

Drop- in sessions are held on the first Saturday of the month in The White Hart from 9.30am to 11.30am. If you have a problem or would like information or assistance you can meet a representative from the Parish Council.

Need to know more?

For further information please  contact the Clerk, Trish Walker  or call on 01730 825201